Skip to content

Open Access – a Petition. All can sign

May 22, 2012

Björn Brembs has very actively been promoting this in his twitter-feed, and I have gotten links via my Social Psychology contacts also. It is a call for signing a petition to have all articles paid by US taxpayers open to the public.  Yes, it is a US petition, but evidently everybody can sign.  (I quietly wonder if there are similar things going on for other countries, because us academics tend to be tax-payer supported.  I know my smattering of publications have been – fair is fair).

Anyway, I want to be part of the viral thing – signing is of course a personal decision.

Incidentally, I found out that my university has Social Neuroscience, but there is an embargo, so I can only get to papers that are 18 months old. I found that out when my curiousity directed me to a paper I did not have access to (published, like, oh in two weeks), so I went and ordered the journal, thinking we did not have it…

Now, I doubt my personal research right now will suffer from not getting this particular paper, but, you know, I am in the process of writing something up, and I kind of feel icked that I may not have access to new research that I need to cite….

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

